STATEWIDE – This week is National Child passenger safety week and a Maine law is changing to keep little ones safe in the car.
Under the new law, all children under 2 years old are required to be rear-facing in their car seat.
Children facing forward must be buckled up until they reach 55 pounds.
Before the change, children had to be buckled up until they reached 40 pounds.
Also, children must be in a booster seat until theyare 8 years old, 57 inches tall or 80 pounds.
Bangor police Sgt. Wade Betters said car seats do have an expiration date so it is also important to make car seats are up to date.
“We believe that the new laws and how they’re changing the child seat laws work to the benefit of all involved,” he said.
“Take a little bit of extra time to get the car seat in the right way. Get the children under 2 in a rear-facing seat and take the time to properly strap it in. You’ll have a lot better chances of surviving a crash,” Betters said.
For those who want to get their child’s seat checked, Safe Kids Maine offers a certified car seat inspections station on the fourth Saturday of every month. It is held from 10 a.m to 1 p.m. at Quirk Chevrolet on Hogan Road in Bangor.