A+ A A-

NASCAR Sprint Cup Daytona Sprint Unlimited race coverage


Teams will now be required to do a four-tire pit stop (as voted by the fans) and the order for the second-lap restart will be based on how teams exit after the pit stop.

SEGMENT DONE - Lap 30: And Tony Stewart took the lead on the backstretch to lead after the first 30 laps! 12 cars remain after this segment.

Lap 29: And coming on the outside is Tony Stewart! He is alongside Kenseth but cannot take the lead for long.

Lap 23: Whoa! Joey Logano got a little squirrely but was able to regain control without hitting anything (or anybody!)

Lap 23: Biffle goes low to take the lead - but Kenseth takes it back right before the line!

RESTART - Lap 20: Matt Kenseth is your leader on this restart. 12 cars remain on lead lap (19 started the race).

Radio chatter on Lap 19: Dale Earnhardt jr.: "The cars don’t push real well – at least not the guy out front. It’s real hairy"

Radio chatter on Lap 15: “I drove over a little bit of stuff,” Kasey Kahne said. “I just screwed up. Damn it.”

Lap 15: WRECK! Big wreck! Second-place Tony Stewart was going low and got clipped from behind by Marcos Ambrose, creating a chain-effect behind him with many cars taking damage. Jeff Gordon, Kyle Busch, Mark Martin, Jimmie Johnson and Denny Hamlin take heavy damage and their days are likely done. Kurt Busch got hit on the driver's side but was able to drive away. Martin Truex Jr. also got some damage.

Lap 12: Remember race leader Matt Kenseth is good at Daytona. He may be new to Joe Gibbs Racing, but not to Victory Lane at Daytona. He won his second Daytona 500 last year.

Lap 11: Lots of passing so far - drivers jockeying for position - but a clean race ... for now.

Lap 10: Dale Jr. breaks the top five.

Lee Spencer notes on Lap 7: spotters are doing all the talking

Lap 6: Five drivers - Gordon, Martin, Logano, Montoya and Almirola - are falling back and losing the main pack.

Lap 6: Now Matt Kenseth goes to the lead!

Lap 5: Terry Labonte has pulled off the track and is in the garage.

ALERT: Fans have voted for a 4-tire change. Teams will be required to do a four-tire change at the end of this segment.

Lap 3: Martin Truex Jr. to the lead!

Lap 1: Greg Biffle to the lead! Lots of back-and-forth early!

It’s the words you’ve been dying to hear for the last 3 months – Boogity! Boogity! Boogity! Let’s go racing boys!

Radio chatter at 8:28 p.m. ET: Jimmie Johnson tells the crew that he can hear the radio around the track in all the turns except 3

8:27 p.m. ET: Final pace lap is here - strap those belts on!

Don't forget - new car or not, crashes happen quickly on this track. Need a reminder? Just check out what happened Friday less than 10 minutes into the opening practice

This it is, the first race featuring the highly anticipated Generation 6 Sprint Cup car. Just how did this race car evolve over the years? Take a look

Lee Spencer says: 55, 78, 99 to the back of the field for backup cars

8:21 p.m. ET: Cars are rolling off!


8:15 p.m. ET: The prerace festivities are complete - it's almost time to go racing! Tune in to FOX Sports right now for flag-to-flag coverage.

Welcome to the FOXSports.com coverage of the season-opening, non-points NASCAR Sprint Unlimited at Daytona International Speedway.

A total of 19 drivers will compete in the race, which will be broadcast on FOX at 8 p.m. ET on Saturday.

As a reminder, you the fans have voted on the format for tonight's race and it will be three segments - 30 laps, 25 laps and a 20-lap shootout to the finish. Still to be determined by a fan vote is the number of pits stops that will take place and if there will be any driver eliminations.

In 12 career Sprint Unlimited starts, the late, great Dale Earnhardt posted six victories, 11 top-10 finishes and an average finish of 2.75.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. is the all-time lap leader in the Sprint Unlimited, with 129 laps led.

Tonight will be the 35th running of the Sprint Unlimited. Seven times previously the winner led only the final lap.

The Busch brothers have won the two most recent Sprint Unlimiteds, with Kyle winning in 2012 and Kurt in 2011. They are the only brothers to win the race.

Both Busch brothers set records for closest Sprint Unlimited finishes: Kurt beat Jamie McMurray by 0.058 seconds in 2011, while Kyle beat Tony Stewart by 0.013 seconds last year.

In six of the last seven Sprint Unlimiteds, the final lead change came either on the final lap or the penultimate lap.

Mark Martin will make his 25th Sprint Unlimited start tonight; Aric Almirola will make his first.

Only five of the last 15 Sprint Unlimiteds have been won from a top-10 starting spot.

In the last nine Sprint Unlimiteds, Kevin Harvick is the only repeat winner.

The most money ever won in this race is $215,000. Tony Stewart claimed that much in 2007, as did Dale Earnhardt Jr. in 2008.

Tony Stewart has won a total of $1,201,908 in the Sprint Unlimited, most of any driver in history.

National News

Get the App on the Google Play Store

What's On Tonight

Fox Bangor

8:00 PM

The All-Star Dog Rescue Celebration

10:00 PM

Fox 22 News at 10

11:00 PM

The Mentalist


8:00 PM

The Muppets

8:30 PM

Fresh Off the Boat

9:00 PM

The Middle

9:30 PM

The Goldbergs

10:00 PM

Last Man Standing

10:30 PM

Dr. Ken

11:00 PM

ABC 7 News @ 11

11:35 PM

Jimmy Kimmel Live

Latest Tweets