Hamilton holds off Rosberg for fourth straight win

Barcelona, Spain (SportsNetwork.com) - Lewis Hamilton from Mercedes grabbed the lead in the Formula One world championship standings after claiming his fourth consecutive victory of the season in Sunday's Spanish Grand Prix.

Hamilton and teammate Nico Rosberg staged another thrilling battle for the win this season, as Hamilton crossed the finish line just 0.6 seconds ahead of Rosberg. Both drivers finished in that same order in last month's Bahrain Grand Prix, with the margin of victory there one second.

Hamilton started on the pole and only relinquished the lead when he pitted first on lap 22 and then the final time on lap 44. He had an advantage as high as five seconds, but Rosberg cut that margin to less than a second on lap 60.

Mercedes has been the dominant team this year, with Rosberg scoring the victory in the season-opener in Australia and then Hamilton winning the next four grand prix -- Malaysia, Bahrain, China and Spain.

Hamilton scored his 26th career victory, which put him ahead of Jim Clark and Niki Lauda for eighth on F1's all-time race winners list. It's the first time Hamilton has won the Spanish GP in eight attempts.

Rosberg has now finished second to Hamilton for the fourth straight time. He is also three points behind his teammate in the world championship standings.

Daniel Ricciardo from Red Bull earned his first podium finish in F1 with a third-place run, while his teammate, Sebastian Vettel, the four-time defending world champion, finished fourth after starting 15th. Vettel had qualified 10th but received a five-place grid penalty for an unapproved gearbox change following Saturday's qualifying.

Valtteri Bottas from Williams took the fifth spot, followed by Ferrari drivers Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen.

National News

Access Hollywood